Belmont’s best kept secret

Today I went to Demetrio’s in Belmont, NC. Before I tell you about it, I have to tell you how I wound up there.

Our mail lady flagged my mom down one day to introduce herself when she took over our route. It was nice of her to do that. We had a seriously terrible mail lady before. She tried to run over my dad in our driveway once. Anyway, our new mail lady told mom all about her son who also has some issues like me. Mom told her about my blog. Well, a couple weeks ago, she saw my story in the paper and she told mom she got a copy. Mom said she was very excited for me. Then yesterday, mom and dad came upstairs laughing after they got the mail. Barbara, our mail lady, had left me this:

barbara-mail-lady-note-1

One thing I like as much as pizza is breakfast food. So today, Spencer and I went to try breakfast there.

It’s a place you might describe as a greasy spoon. Nothing fancy and definitely been there for a long time.

One thing we noticed right away was how nice everyone was. I like that. Sometimes, I go into a place and feel uncomfortable as soon as I walk in. This place was not like that.

They have a pretty good selection of breakfast food. I got corned beef hash, french toast, and hash browns and Spencer got the breakfast special. For $5.15 you get two eggs however you like them, bacon or sausage, grits or hash browns, and a biscuit or toast. The portions are large. If you leave here hungry, you did something wrong.

demetrios-1a

It was good. Think home cooking that you don’t have to cook. What I didn’t know because Barbara only left me the breakfast menu is that they have pizza and other items as well. In fact, pizza is what they are locally known for. They also have other things like sandwiches, pasta, salads, pretty much a good assortment of a lot of things.

So here’s how I rated them:

  • Space and accessibility – 4 The tables are a little close together, but most people would be able to get around fine.
  • Sanitation – 5 Everything was clean.
  • Friendliness of staff – 5 The staff were all really nice and helpful and this is the kind of place where everyone knows everyone on a first name basis.
  • Service time – 5 Surprisingly fast.
  • Overall taste – 5 Really good home cooking style breakfast.
  • Bang for your buck – 5 It costs more to get less at Bojangle’s, sorry Bo.

I plan on going back and being one of those people they know on a first name basis. I’d definitely recommend their breakfast. I’ll let you know what I think of their other menu choices when I try them. Definitely going to try the pizza. I might be obsessed with pizza.

Demetrio’s, if you’re listening, you should put your menu online, maybe on your Facebook page. Mom tried to find a website for you but I guess you don’t have one.

– the dude

One thought on “Belmont’s best kept secret

Leave a Reply

